Center Title and Acronym: Center of Excellence in Oilfield Chemicals Research (CEFOR)

 

Host University and Country: University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria

Center Website Address: www.aceuniport.org

Center Director and email address: Prof. Ogbonna Joel ogbonna.joel@ipsng.org; ogbonna.joel@uniport.edu.ng

 

Primary Thematic Discipline of Center: Oilfield Chemicals Research

 

Brief Description of Center: 

The Center of Excellence in Oilfield Chemicals Research (CEFOR), University of Port Harcourt, was established in 2013, to offer international graduate programmes for sustainable development in the petroleum industry. The Center, with funding from the World Bank, aims to address regional development challenges in the oil and gas industry. CEFOR is well positioned to deliver professional and high quality service to the industry through capacity building and cutting edge technology. The center has national accreditation for all 12 of its post graduate programmes.

 

Key Objectives and Expected Outcomes: 

CEFOR’s key objectives include:

  • Promoting home grown and regional research networks that will develop human capital in Africa.
  • Strengthening human capacity and serve as training hub for Oil and Gas industry workforce in Africa.
  • Filling gaps in labor market demands for skills within these specialized areas.
  • Increasing capabilities of faculties and students in Africa through quality postgraduate education, knowledge transfer and internship programmes.
  • Running short courses in Petroleum Engineering and related disciplines.

 

 

MajorAccomplishments to Date: 

  1. 37 of the 1st set of ACE-CEFOR PhD students admitted held their convocation on the 25th of March, 2017.
  2. 208 M.Sc. students graduated from the different Centres that make up CEFOR
  3. Through the University/industry-partnership efforts, we have completed the Center’s laboratory facilities.
  4. The University/Industry-partnership efforts have also helped us to complete the 2-storey building to house the ACE-CEFOR.
  5. Commissioning of NLNG Centre/mini-modular refinery.
  6. First International Conference on Oilfield Chemistry and Flow Assurance (Oilflow -2015)
  1. 70 new PhD students admitted for the 2016/2017 session
  2. The Center received national accreditation from the National Universities Commission for 12 of its post graduate programmes in April 2017.
  3. The Center carried out an international gap analysis in June 2017.

 

 

Primary Regional and Global Partners: 

  1. IFP School, Ecole du Petrole et des moteurs, Cedex France.
  2. Total E& P Nigeria LTD
  3. University of the Witwatersrand, Richard Ward, 1 Jan Smuts Ave, Braamfontein, Johannesburg, 2000, South Africa
  4. College of Engineering, Kwameh Nkrumah University of Science & Technology, Kumasi, Ghana
  5. Regional Universities Forum for Capacity Building in Agriculture(RUFORUM), O Box 16811 Wandegeya | Kampala, Uganda
  6. University of Cape Coast, Cape Coast, Ghana
  7. Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Kenya
  8. Moi University , Eldoret, Kenya

 

Senior Faculty Email Address Research Area
Prof. Mike Onyekonwu mikeonyekonwu@yahoo.com Reservoir Engineering
Prof. Joseph Ajienka Joseph.ajienka@uniport.edu.ng Production Engineering
Prof. Onyewuchi Akaranta onyewuchi.akaranta@uniport.edu.ng; onyewuchi.akaranta@yahoo.com Oilfield Chemistry
Prof. Godwin Chukwu chukwug@tonciaenergy.com Petroleum Engineering
Prof. Ogbonna Joel ogbonna.joel@ipsng.org; ogbonna.joel@uniport.edu.ng Oilfield Chemicals/Drilling Fluids
Prof. Gideon Okpokwasili gidsilman@yahoo.com Microbiology
Prof. Julian Osuji osujijulian.osuji@uniport.edu.ng Oilfield Chemistry
Prof. Francis Sikoki francis.sikoki@uniport.edu.ng Animal & Environmental Biology
Dr. Sunday Ikiensikimama ikien2003@yahoo.com PVT Correlations
Prof. Gideon Abu gideonabu1@yahoo.com  Microbiology
Dr. Herbert Stanley stanleyokeh@yahoo.com Microbiology
Prof. Omowumi Iledare wumi.iledare@yahoo.com Petroleum Economics
Prof. Olalekan Olafuyi o.olafuyi@uniben.edu Petroleum Engineering
Prof. Adewale Dosunmu adewale.dosunmu@uniport.edu.ng Drilling Engineering
Prof. Ify Nwaogazie ifynwaogazie@yahoo.com Civil Engineering
Prof. Michael Oti michael.oti@uniport.edu.ng Petroleum Geoscience
Prof. Franklin Chukwuma fochukwuma@yahoo.com;   fo.chukwuma@uniport.edu.ng Chemical Enginnering
Prof. Emenike Wami profwami@yahoo.com Chemical Engineering
Prof. Leo Osuji osujileo@yahoo.com Pure & Industrial Chemistry
Prof. Ovie Abayeh oviabayeh@gmail.com Pure & Industrial Chemistry
Prof. Benjamin Ndukwu ndukwu.benjamin@uniport.edu.ng Plant Science and Biotechnology
Dr. James Abosede james.abosede@uniport.edu.ng Pure & Industrial Chemistry
Prof. Osei-Wusu Achaw owach@gmail.com Chemical Engineering
Prof. E. K. Asiam ekasiam@yahoo.com PetroleumEngineering
Prof. Dulu Appah appah.dulu@ipsng.org Gas Engineering
Dr. Grace Ofori-Sarpong goforisarp@gmail.com Petroleum Engineering
Dr. Boniface Oriji aloriji2000@yahoo.com Petroleum Engineering
Dr. Saka Matemilola smatemilola@gmail.com;   matem@inbox.com Petroleum Engineering
Dr. Francis Beka francisbeka@yahoo.com Geoscience
Dr. Selegha Abrakasa selegha.abrakasa@uniport.edu.ng Geology
Dr. Betram Ozumba bertram.ozumba@sbcglobal.net Geology
Prof. Prince Mmom prince.mmom@uniport.edu.ng;  pcmmom@yahoo.com Geography & Environmental Management
Dr. Ibisime Etela ibisime.etela@uniport.edu.ng Animal Science
Dr. Akaha Tse akaha.tse@uniport.edu.ng Geology
Dr. Koyejo Oduola koyejo.oduola@cgrp.org;   koyejo.oduola@uniport.edu.ng Chemical Engineering
Prof. Ayoade Kuye ayo.kuye@uniport.edu.ng Chemical Engineering
Prof. Sunny Iyuke sunny.iyuke@wits.ac.za Petroleum Engineering
Dr. Preye Orodu preye.d.orodu@gmail.com Petroleum Engineering
Prof. Charley Anyadiegwu drcicanyadiegwu@yahoo.com Petroleum Engineering
Prof. Obinna Anoliefo anoliefoobidimbuanoliefo@uniben.edu;  Oobidimbu@yahoo.com Plant Science and Biotechnology
Prof. Ebenezer Okonkwo ebenokonkwo@gmail.com Chemical Engineering
Prof. Godwin Igwe goddyigwe@aol.com Chemical Engineering
Engr Chikezie Nwosu chyke_nwosu@yahoo.com;   chikezie.nwosu@addaxpetroleum.com Petreoleum Engineering
Dr. Joseph Ellah josephellah@hotmail.co.uk Petroleum Economics
Dr. Chijioke Nwaozuzu cnwaozuzu@gmail.com; cnwaozuzu@googlemail.com Petroleum Economics
Prof. Bosa Okoli bosaokoli@yahoo.com Microbiology
Dr. Boma Kinigoma boma.kinigoma@uniport.edu.ng Petroleum Engineering
Prof. Chukwunonye Ojinnaka cmojinnaka@yahoo.co.uk; chukwunonye.ojinnaka@uniport.edu.ng Pure & Industrial Chemistry
Dr. Chioma Achugasim ozioma.achugasim@uniport.edu.ng Pure & Industrial Chemistry
Dr. Samuel Ofodile drseofodile@yahoo.com Pure & Industrial Chemistry
Dr. Millicent Ibezim-Ezeani millibejmj@yahoo.com Pure & Industrial Chemistry
Dr. Ikechukwu Abagwa agbagwa.ikechukwu@uniport.edu.ng Plant Science and Biotechnology
Prof. David Ogbe dogbe@aust.edu.ng; davidogbe@flowgridsltd.com; dogreatland@gmail.com Petroleum Engineering
Prof. Roseline Konya roseline.konya@uniport.edu.ng Animal & Environmental Biology
Dr. David Ige davidige@hotmail.com Petroleum Engineering
Dr. Vincent Weli welivinezi@yahoo.com; vincent.weli@uniport.edu.ng Geography & Environmental Management
Prof. Eunice Nwachukwu olueu@yahoo.com Plant Science and Biotechnology
Dr. John Ugbegbor johnugbebor@yahoo.com Environmental Engineering
Prof. Jonah Agunwamba nwambaagu@yahoo.com Environmental Engineering
Prof. Bene Abbey babbey51@yahoo.com Biochemistry
Dr. Chioma Chikere chioma.chikere@uniport.edu.ng Microbiology
Prof. Julian Osuji osujijulian.osuji@uniport.edu.ng Plant Science and Biotechnology