Center Title and Acronym: Centre for Food Technology and Research (CEFTER)


Host University and Country: Benue State University, Makurdi, Nigeria

Center Website Address:

Center Director and email address: Prof. Daniel K. Adedzwa (


Primary Thematic Discipline of Center: Control of Postharvest Losses


Brief Description of Center: The Centre for Food Technology and Research housed in Benue State University Makurdi, Nigeria is one of the Africa Centre of Excellence for Control of Post harvest losses. It took off in the 2015/2016 session admitting higher degree students in M.Sc. and PhD all related to food production technology



Key Objectives and Expected Outcomes: The key objective of CEFTER is to promote teaching, research and extension in post harvest services, enhance agricultural productivity and industrial output for the socio-economic development of Nigeria and Africa. The Centre has a research focus: Development and Utilization of improved technologies to reduce post harvest food losses.



Major Accomplishments to Date: The major accomplishment of the Centre to date:

  1. Training of students in research activities at the M.Sc. and PhD levels
  2. Successfully organized workshops for food vendors across the state
  3. Assist her institutional partners in developing their infrastructures
  4. Granting of sponsorship to students i.e. tuition, accommodation
  5. Grant research, workshop and conference to staff and students



Primary Regional and Global Partners:

Primary Partners:

  1. University of Agriculture, Makurdi
  2. Nigeria Stored Products Research Institute, Ilorin
  3. Benue Agricultural and Rural Development Agency, Makurdi
  4. Akperan Orshi College of Agriculture, Yandev
  5. National Root Crop Research Institute, Umudike


Global Partner:

  1. Liverpool John Moore University, Uk



Senior Faculty Email Address Research Area

Prof. Daniel K. Adedzwa Plant breeding and Genetics
Dr. B. A. Ikyo Photonics
Dr. O. Igbum Chemistry
Dr. S. Adejo Chemistry





Benue State University Staff
S/N Name Designation e-mail Phone
1. Prof. Daniel Adedzwa Centre Leader 07036409502
2. Dr. Barnabas Ikyo Project Manager 08185069529
3. Prof. Innocent A. Adikwu HOD. Biological Sciences 08035897463
4. Dr. Ogbene Igbum HOD. Chemistry 08033116421
5. Dr. Ayila Ngutsav HOD. Economics   08065716118
6. Dr. Michael Imande HOD. Maths/Computer Sc. 08036389337
7. Dr. Mrumun David Tyona HOD. Physics 08065716143
8. Dr. Benjamin Ahule HOD. Sociology 08065310770
9. Dr. Benedict Labe HOD. Voc. and Tech. 08053471512
10. Dr. Pauline Akombo Dept. of Biological Sciences 07038141372
11. Dr. Sylvester Adejo Dept. of Chemistry 08054557652
12. Dr. Agnes Ikwuba Dept. of Sociology   07037782511
13. Dr. Naomi Doki Dept. of Economics 07035945857
14. Dr. Leke Luter Dept. of Chemistry 08037058236
15. Dr. Anhwange B. Asen Dept. of Chemistry 08057050242
16. Dr. Simon Iordye Andural Dept. of Voc and Tech 08036294222
17. Dr. Michael M. Iorbee Dept. of Voc and Tech 07033011140
18. Dr. Nathaniel N. Afaor Dept. of Voc and Tech 08161818299
19. Akombor Ande Akombor Dept. of Physics 07038102024
20. Dr. Frederick Gbaorun Dept. of Physics 07038635405
21. Dr. James Tsor Dept. of Physics 08057616381
22. Dr. Anjande Gbasorun Dept. of Economics 08030591764
23. Dr. Obute Christopher Dept. of Economics 08037871272
24. Dr. Comfort Ugbem Dept. of Sociology 08069208451
25. Dr. Godwin Akpehe Dept. of Sociology 08034944921
26. Dr. Kombol M. Aondover Dept. of Chemistry    
27. Dr. Timothy Alabar Entrepreneurship 08065313110
28. Dr. Aondowase Boh Entrepreneurship 07067725625
29. Dr. Mike S. Nongo PG School   07031621917
30. Prof. Armstrong Adejo Dean, PG School   08020379050
31. Dr. Avanenge Faajir Dept. of Biological Sciences    
32. Prof. Edward A. Omudu Dept. of Biological Sciences   07036449654
33. Prof. Joseph Fiase Dept. of Physics    
34. Prof. Lawrence A. Ega Dept. of Sociology   08036139928
35. Dr. Stephen G. Yiase Dean of Science    
36. Dr. Godwin Ior Achinge Dept. of Medicine   08035778786
37. Dr. Solomom K. Agishi Dept. of Voc and Tech 08036556570
38. Mr. Andrew Shar Gbakon Dept. of Chemistry 08075875305
39. Dr. Simon Terver Ubwa Director, Academic Planning   070367048
40. Dr. Nguvan Akaagerger Dept. of Physics 08036477997
41. Dr. Ukeyima Moses Dept. of Chemistry 09075004372
42. Prof. Vange Terkimbi Dept. of Biostatistics 08034790202
43. Tirlumun Ge Dept of Maths/Computer Sc. 08091086561
44. Prof. Moses I. Ogbaji Dept. of Biostatistics 08036588168
45. Dr. Ogwuche O. I. Dept of Maths/Computer Sc. 08062244376
46. Dr. Luter Leke Dept. of Chemistry    
47. Jude Tsavnande 08069436880
University of Agriculture, Makurdi Staff
S/N Name Department e-mail Phone
48. Dr. Abraham Girgih  
49. Prof. Moses Obasi Dept. of Biology 08024236116
50. Dr. Daniel Ipilakyaa Dept. of Mech. Engr. 08063070213
51. Dr. Age Iorbee  
52. Prof. Bibiana Igbabul Dean, Col. of Food Tech 08036060907
53. Prof. Ebenezer Ekefan     08051584263
54. Prof. John Igoli Dept. of Chemistry 08130991308
55. Prof. Paul Annune Dept. of Biology   08066071479
56. Dr. Shola G. Solomon Dept. of Biology 07037275891
57. Prof. Ngozi Odiaka Dept. of Crop Production 08052745893
58. Prof. Simon Irtwange Dept. Agricultural Engr.    
59. Prof. Charles C. Ariahu Director, Consult. 08036804789
CEFTER Partners
S/N Name Designation e-mail Phone
60. Dr. Olayemi Folorunsho NSPRI 08037084591
61. Dr. Ukpabi Joseph Ukpabi NRCRI    
62. Dr. Ahemen Samuel AOCAY