What is the ACE Project?

The World Bank in collaboration with West and Central African countries launched the Africa Centers of Excellence Project in 2014. The ACE 1 project objective is to:

  1. Promote regional specialization among participating universities in areas that address specific common regional development challenges
  2. Strengthen the capacities of these universities to deliver high quality training and applied research
  3. Meet the demand for skills required for Africa’s development such as the extractive industries

The Association of African Universities Secretariat is the appointed Regional Facilitating Unit for the ACE 1 Project.

Focus of the ACE 1 Project

The project is focusing on strengthening 22 existing institutions in West and Central Africa. The investment is around US$8 million per institutions. The 22 centers were competitively selected using criteria benchmarked to the best international practice. The 22 ACEs have the following goals:
1. To strengthen post-graduate programs for a regional student body
2. To Offer specialized courses for industry professionals in the region
3. To establish a regional faculty body, improve their faculty and attract additional top level faculty
4. To provide learning resources, labs and minor rehabilitations of existing facilities
5. To establish linkages with companies, government agencies and research centers for work-place learning input into the curricula, consultancies and joint research
6. To collaborate with partner institutions to share the benefits of the investments, for example through training of faculty, sharing of curricula and sharing of learning resources

Which countries are part of ACE 1?

The list of the 8 participating countries is below including the thematic areas:

Country Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) Agriculture Health
Benin 1 (Applied Mathematics)
Burkina Faso 1 (Environment and Water Engineering with Agro-business Elements)
Cameroon 1 (Water and Environmental Engineering and Sciences)
Ghana 1 (Water and Environmental Engineering and Sciences) 1 (Crop Science and Plant Breeders) 1 (Cell Biology of Infectious Diseases)
Nigeria* 3 (Material Sciences and Petroleum Engineering; Oil Chemical Engineering and Sciences, Science and Technology Transfer) 3 (Agriculture and Environment Sciences, Dry-land Agriculture, Food technology) 4 (Neglected Tropical Diseases, Phytomedicine Science; Infections Diseases Pathologies; Reproductive Health)
Senegal 1 (Mathematics and ICT) 1 (Maternal and Child Health)
Togo 1 (Poultry Sciences)
Cote d’Ivoire Statistics

STEM-Climate Change

STEM – Mining and Environment

   
TOTAL 11 5 6

The role of the private sector in the ACE 1 Project

The ACE 1 project is:

  1. Supporting knowledge partnerships with universities and international research networks
  2. Forging knowledge partnerships with the private sector to strengthen curricula and research
  3. Supporting institutions to meet international standards and to generate income through consultancies

 

ACE 1 Project Beneficiaries

The ACE 1 Project is benefiting the following:

  1. Students in supported institutions and their partner institutions from across Western and Central Africa who will benefit from quality research-based education in high demand areas
  2. Companies, governmental or non-governmental organisations that partner with the Africa Centers of Excellence who gian from more interns and graduates with highly relevant training
  3. Faculty and staff in the Africa Centers of Excellence who benefit from improved teaching and research conditions

 

Who is Funding the ACE Project

The ACE 1 project is funded through the World Bank International Development Assistance (IDA) funds. The funds are provided as loans to the participating African governments.

 ACEs in West and Central Africa NOV 2016

 

No ACE Institution/Country CENTRE VICE CHANCELLOR / PRESIDENT Leader Email/Tel: Leader Deputy

 

Email/Tel: Deputy
1 CEA-SMA – ACE in Applied Mathematics Université d’Abomey – Calavi, Bénin

UAC

Prof. Brice Sinsin

bsinsin@gmail.com,  brice.sinsin@fsa.uac.bj

Prof. Joel Tossa joeltossa@gmail.com

 

Professor Aboubacar MARCOS abmarcos@yahoo.fr
2 2IE – ACE in the education and research with Water, energy, and environment sciences and technologies Institut International d’Ingénierie de l’Eau et de l’Environnement, Burkina Faso

2IE

amadou.hama.maiga@2ie-edu.org

harouna.karambiri@2ie-edu.org

 

Prof. Harouna Karambiri harouna.karambiri@2ie-edu.org

 

Mr. Abdourazackou SANOUSSI razack.sanoussi@2ie-edu.org
3 CETIC – ACE in Information and Communication Technologies Université de Yaoundé I, Cameron

UY1

Prof. Maurice Sosso

sossomaurice@yahoo.fr

Prof. Charles AWONO ONANA

 

awonoonana.charles@gmail.com

 

Prof. Bilong Paul bilongpaul@yahoo.fr
4. ACE in Statistics École national supérieure de statistique et d’économie appliquée (ENSEA) Dr. Koffi Nguessan Dr. Kouadio Hugues (+225) 07 75 25 79

(+225) 22 48 32 18

Hugues.kouadio@ensea.ed.ci

T: +225 22 44 08 42
M: +225 06 22 22 38
nguessan.koffi@ensea.ed.ci

Pr KOUAKOU N’GORAN Jean Arnaud jakouakou@yahoo.com
5. Climate Change Université Félix Houphouët Boigny à Cocody

UFHB

Pr.Kone Daouda T:+225 08451726
daoudakone2013@gmail.com
Dr. KOUAME N’guessan François

 

Dr. (M.C.) Konaré Abdourahamane

 

+225 07009566 /030071 39

+225 442 630 46

fnkouame3@gmail.com

 

+225 09 75 21 25

 

 

konarea@yahoo.com

 

6. Mining l’Institut national polytechnique Houphouët Boigny

(INP-HB)

Dr. Koffi N’Guessan
T:+225 30 64 67 00
M: +225 07 11 25 46
nguessankoffijf@yahoo.com
Dr. Yao Kouakou Alphonse alphonse.yao@inphb.edu.ci Dr. KONIN Athana kathanas@yahoo.fr

 

7 WACCBIP

Cell Biology of Infectious Pathogens

University of Ghana, Ghana

UGL

Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu

vcoffice@ug.edu.gh

Prof. Gordon Awandare gawandare@ug.edu.gh

 

Prof Kwadwo Koram kkoram@noguchi.ug.edu.gh
8 WACCI-ACE for training plant breeders, seed scientists and technologists University of Ghana, Legon, Ghana

UGL

Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu

vcoffice@ug.edu.gh

Prof. Eric Danquah edanquah@wacci.edu.gh

 

Dr. Daniel Dzidzienyo ddzidzienyo@wacci.edu.gh.
9 AWES- ACE for Water and Environmental Sanitation Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana

KNUST

Prof. Kwasi Obiri-Danso

vc@knust.edu.gh

Prof. Samuel Nii Odai  snodai@yahoo.com

 

Dr Sampson Oduro-Kwarteng sokwarteng@yahoo.com
10 DRYLAND

Dryland Agriculture

Bayero University, Kano, Nigeria

BUK

Prof. Muhammad Yahuza Bello vc@buk.edu.ng

abubakarasheed@gmail.com

 

Prof. Jibrin Mohammed Jibrin jibrin@buk.edu.ng

 

Professor Sanusi G. Mohammed sanusi.gaya@buk.edu.ng

 

11 CEFTER

Food Technology and Research

Benue State University, Nigeria BSU Prof. Msugh Kembe

kdzever@yahoo.com

 

Prof. Daniel Adedzwa d_adedzwa@yahoo.com

 

Dr Barnabas Ikyo  

ikyo12@yahoo.com

12 ACEGID Genomics of Infectious Diseases Redeemers University, Nigeria RUN Prof. Z. Debo Adeyewa vc@run.edu.ng Prof. Christian Happi happic@run.edu.ng

 

Dr (Mrs.) Onikepe Folarin folarino@run.edu.ng

 

13 CEADESE-FUNAAB  Agricultural Development and Sustainable Environment Federal University of Agriculture, Nigeria

FUNAAB

Prof. Olusola Oyewole

oyewoleb@yahoo.com

+234 80 3335 1814

Prof. Okanlawon  Onagbesan onagbesanok@yahoo.com

 

 

Professor Oluseyi ODUGUWA, Oduguwaoo@funaab.edu.ng

 

09096193201

08033741112

14 CENTDFB  Neglected Tropical Diseases and Forensic Biotechnology Ahmadu Bello University, Nigeria

ABU

Prof. Ibrahim Garba

igarba75@yahoo.com

vc@abu.edu.ng

 

Jonathan Nok jonandi@yahoo.com

 

Professor Inuwa

 

inuwahm@yahoo.com
15 ACEPRD

Phytomedicine Research and Development

University of Jos, Nigeria

UJ

Prof. Sebastian Maimako

vc@unijos.edu.ng

 

Prof. John Aguiyi jca757@yahoo.com

 

Prof. Francis Okwuasaba okwuasaba@yahoo.com

 

+234 (0) 8032 8928 23

16 CERHI-ACE in Reproductive Health and Innovation University of Benin, Nigeria

UBN

Prof. F.F.O. Orumwense

vc@uniben.edu.ng

Prof. Friday Okonofua feokonofua@yahoo.co.uk

 

Professor Obehi Okojie kojieobehi@gmail.com

okojieobehi@yahoo.com.

 

 

17 PAMI

PAN African  Materials Institute

African University of Science and Technology, Nigeria

AUST

Prof. Kingston Nyamapfene

knyamapfene@aust.edu.ng

 

Prof. Omololu Akin-Ojo oakinojo@aust.edu.ng

+23470 39531808

 

Prof. Shola Odusanya

 

shola2@hotmail.com

 

 

18  CEFOR ACE for Oil Field Chemicals University of Port Harcourt, Nigeria

UPH

Prof. N.E.S. Lale

vc@uniport.edu.ng

Prof. Joel Ogbonna ogbonna.joel@ipsng.org

 

Professor Onyewuchi Akaranta Onyewuchi.akaranta@yahoo.com

onyewuchi.akaranta@uniport.edu.ng

19 ACE in Science, Technology and Knowledge Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria OAU Prof. Bamitale Omole

vc@oauife.edu.ng

Prof. Ayobami Salami ayobasalami@yahoo.com

 

Prof. G. A. Aderounmu gaderoun@yahoo.com

gaderoun@oauife.edu.ng

 

20 ACE in Mathematics, Informatics, and ICT University of Gaston Berger, Senegal

UGB

Prof. Baydallaye Kane

cabinet@ugb.edu.sn

 

 

Prof. Moussa Lo moussa.lo@ugb.edu.sn

 

Professeur Amadou Seidou Hassan MAIGA amadou-seidou.maiga@ugb.edu.sn

 

 

 

 

21 CEA-SAMEF in Maternal and Child Health Université Cheikh Anta Diop, Sénégal

UCAD

Prof. Ibrahima Thioub

rectorat@ucad.edu.sn

 

Pr Jean Charles MOREAU cgo@orange.sn Pr Ousmane NDIAYE oussoubane@gmail.com

 

Monsieur Cheikh Touba NDIAYE
Spécialiste des SI et  S&E

+221 77 066 20 48

22 CERSA

Poultry sciences

University of Lome, Togo

UL

Prof.  Komla Dodzi

Kokoroko

dodzikokoroko@gmail.com

 

 

Dr. Jacob Tona jak_tona@yahoo.com

jaktona@gmail.com

 

23. The Gambia Ministry of Higher Education, Research, Science  and Technology

MoHERST

Dr.  Ebrima  Sisawo eam_sisawo@yahoo.com   Dr. Yusupha Touray yusuph77@gmail.com